History of the PTO

The PTO began operating in April 2004, as the Public Transport Industry Ombudsman (Victoria) Limited.
In 2006, our name was changed to the Public Transport Ombudsman Limited.

From April 2004, the PTO was operated by Acting Ombudsman Charles Bare, with a temporary staff provided by the State Government. James Hartnett was appointed as the first Public Transport Industry Ombudsman in July 2004 and continued in the role until February 2008. Simon Cohen was then appointed as the second Public Transport Ombudsman in February 2008 and left in August 2010 after accepting the role of Telecommunication Industry Ombudsman. In August 2010, Janine Young was appointed as the third Public Transport Ombudsman. Janine left the PTO in October 2014 to take up the role of Energy and Water Ombudsman NSW.

Treasure Jennings commenced as Public Transport Ombudsman on 8 December 2014.

The PTO has continued to grow and develop since 2004, refining the way we receive, investigate and resolve complaints and pursuing best practice dispute resolution. We have seen large changes to the public transport industry, particularly through the re-franchising process. We continue to respond and adapt to the needs of consumers and the changing public transport landscape in Victoria.